Blocking vs. disabling a user account

created

Soapbox provides administrators two different methods for denying login access for a web user account: blocking a user account by evaluating a field value in Salesforce or manually disabling the account in the User Manager. Some differences are noted below.

Blocking a user account by evaluating a field value in Salesforce

If a user account is blocked due to a field value on their Salesforce Contact record, the message defined under Components > Salesforce Dashboard > User Manager > Authentication Options tab > Block Message will be displayed when they attempt to login.

No change to their Enabled status will be made to their user account in the User Manager of Soapbox. The block will be removed or instituted based on the field value in Salesforce without any manual intervention by an administrator in Soapbox.

Manually disabling a user account in the User Manager

A user account can be disabled and enabled manually under Site > User Manager. This can be done by editing the user account or by clicking the icon for the account under the Enabled column in the User Manager.

If a user account is disabled, a system default message will appear when they attempt to login. The user account can only be enabled manually by a Soapbox administrator under Site > User Manager.

Have more questions? Submit a request
Article is closed for comments.