If your site has a password-protected area, you can determine what which of the following user access levels should be able to view a given menu item:
For an overview of these levels, Setting the Group for users accessing the front end of your website.
By default, anyone who is a Public user can only access menu items set to Public. Anyone who is a Registered user has access to Public and Registered menu items. Anyone who is a Special user can access Public, Registered and Special menu items.
If you wish to override this default so only individuals in a given access level can access a menu item, you can tick the Exact Access Level Only checkbox for a menu item in the add/edit view of the menu item in the Menu Manager. For menu items with this checkbox ticked, they behave as follows:
- Public: Only anonymous (non-logged in) Public users will see Registered items. Once someone logs in, they can no longer see this menu item. This is ideal for the Login menu item itself.
- Registered: Only logged in Registered users can access this menu item. Special users cannot access it.
- Special: Only logged in Special users can access this menu item. This is no change from the default behavior.